aceferro.blogg.se

Shalom hanoch nyc
Shalom hanoch nyc








shalom hanoch nyc

And waved - well, at one time the audiences waved cigarette lighters and candles - but as that's not allowed anymore we waved lighted cell phones! Keeping up with the times, I guess.

shalom hanoch nyc

And Israeli audiences being what we are - we sang along with him. What can I tell you - Shalom Hanoch and his accompanist, Moshe Levi - who is so much more than that, a really fabulously talented musician in his own right - sang and played for two hours without a break. It's a sort of theatre-in-the-"U" - not quite a theatre-in-the-round - and we were sitting along one side of the "U" so that we had a great view of the stage and also of the audience. There's a relatively new club across the road from my house called "Hamabada" (The Laboratory) which is a small and intimate venue and which I visited for the first time during the Film Festival a week or so ago. The man has never been out of fashion - that's 32 years - and he was singing even before I got here. "Poogy" and "Chocolat, Menta, Mastic" disbanded long ago - Shalom Hanoch is still going strong.Īs I said, I had no Hebrew and so couldn't understand the words - and, therefore, had no idea what a fabulous songwriter Shalom Hanoch was/is - but his music really turned me on.Īnd so it was that last Thursday night Marallyn and Shosh and I went to a "live" Shalom Hanoch concert. And the first three records I bought - 12 inch 33 1/3 LPs - no tapes or CDs then - were by "Poogy", "Chocolat, Menta, Mastik" and Shalom Hanoch. So that when I arrived here and began to listen to the radio and heard the popular songs and popular singers I became very excited with the music. I also had no idea who the popular music stars of the day were - except for Yoram Gaon, Yaffa Yarkoni and Shoshana Damari.whose music had made it to New York. (The white cheese is on the small table.) That's sort of like the first sentence everyone learns in French "La plume de ma tante est sur la bureau de mon oncle" (My aunt's pen is on my uncle's desk.) - another of those sentences which no one ever uses. " Yesh po shemesh? Ken, yesh po shemesh rak ba boker." (Is there sun? Yes, there is sun only in the morning.) A sentence I have had one or two occasions to use - and a sentence I have never had occasion to use - never ever - "Ha gvina ha levana al ha shulchan ha katan". And I knew three sentences - which I had learned at the Ulpan at the Jewish Agency Building in New York. I could say "eema" (mother) and "abba" (father). Well - technically that's not absolutely true. Dreams.When I came here in 1975 I had no Hebrew at all. Letters to a Young Poet- Rainier Maria Rilkeįuton. ( Pretty Impressive huh? ) it takes some effort Teach, Learn, Share

shalom hanoch nyc

Interestsįeed me with stories! Knowledge, philosophy, laughter, languages, good vegan food!!!Īnd Ella Fitzgerald will always be PERFECTIONĬarlos Aguirre, Guinga, Matti Caspi, Shalom Hanoch, Mercedes Sosa.

shalom hanoch nyc

And I know trust is not something you give at first nowadays, but I keep standing on the surface of those that see the truth in others' eyes this is an awesome way to Stay in this amazing wave. I want to see the world with the eyes of the wise men who travelled seeking for dreams and life. All things, good and bad, are there for a reason and we are here to understand and accept its beauty, no matter what. there is exactly no reason for me to fear this world and the people who inhabit it. I've been getting really good at seeing the best aspect of any situation. Though I could say I'm in love with beauty, and that involves everything that comes naturally, like human connection, nature, animals, art, history.










Shalom hanoch nyc